Ready for Mockingjay

Ready for Mockingjay

I am a huge Hunger Games fan. After much convincing from my younger friends, I tried reading the trilogy and was instantly hooked. I adore Katniss Everdeen, and was fascinated by the strange world of Panem. The movies are just as exciting for me – mainly because I can see all the sartorial descriptions brought to life. My favourite on-screen character is obviously Effie. But there was one clothing item in Hunger Games: Catching Fire, that I couldn’t stop thinking about…

Ready for Mockingjay

The Huntress Cowl. Or, Katniss’ badass sweater thingy. I saw it, and I had to have it. Luckily for me, my mom is a knitting guru. As in, she’s a better knitter than Katniss is an archer. Ok. I’m going to stop with the movie references now.

Ready for Mockingjay

I am convinced my mom can knit pretty much anything. And the best part? She loooves a good challenge. I showed her The Huntress Cowl, and after a bit of googling and wool shopping, she figured it out. How GORGEOUS is this sweater? It’s such a statement piece, and although its asymmetrical shape may make it seem impractical, it’s actually quite warm. I love it!

Ready for Mockingjay

Ready for Mockingjay

And just in time for the final Huger Games: Mockingjay II!! I will be there on opening day, maybe wearing this sweater and a cool side braid?

Ready for Mockingjay

xo

The Huntress Cowl – Studio Lillian (aka my mom) / Top – Joe Fresh / Skirt – Aritzia / Boots – Victoria’s Secret / Lippie – Deborah Lippman “True Blood”

3 thoughts on “Ready for Mockingjay

Leave a comment