It’s the little things… (my Oprah magazine subscription is the best $40 I ever spent)

O

My Favourite issues of O

I have a confession! I absolutely adore O magazine. I don’t know why I feel like this is a confession – maybe because The Oprah Show, and O magazine seem like such “mom” things to like? I guess I’m ok with that! I seem to love “mom” things: mom jeans, mommy blogs, mom breakfast items (Special K and activia, duh), and obviously I LOVE my own beautiful mom 🙂

O magazine is not just for moms, though. In fact, it’s not even just for women. I think that anyone who picks up a copy of O would find some value, and come away feeling just a little bit happier. My mood is instantly lifted when I see it in my mailbox, and since subscribing in April not one issue has let me down.

Each month’s theme is thoughtful and relevant. They are more unique than any other magazine on the stands. I’ve read interesting articles about post-traumatic growth, how to console someone who is grieving, lack of mammogram funding in the United States, and what it’s like to be a zoo keeper at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo.

I also love the sharp and witty advice column written by Lisa Kogan (everything from how to deal with a picky eater to a pushy mother-in-law),

The gratitude meter (similar to “Cool Find/Links I Love” but in print),

The well-curated book recommendations and excerpts (like this month’s latest from Gloria Steinam!!),

and of course the wonderful fashion finds. The fact that I’m praising the sartorial choices of a “mom” magazine, probably means it’s not a “mom” magazine. 🙂

Reading my O magazine brightens my day, and reminds me to find joy in other little things as well. Such as:

  • Last week’s episode of Doctor Who took place in CAITHNESS, Scotland (year 2119)
  • Coconut milk being offered as a dairy alternative at my local Starbucks
  • A pair of shoes I’ve been eyeing are currently 40% off
  • Because of my trip to Montreal, and the upcoming Thanksgiving weekend, I get three short work weeks in a row! YAAASSS!
  • You can now send gifs in LinkedIn messenger!!!
Me and my Doctor Who Van Gogh TARDIS poster

Me and my Doctor Who Van Gogh TARDIS poster

xoxo

One thought on “It’s the little things… (my Oprah magazine subscription is the best $40 I ever spent)

Leave a comment