Spain! But First, Köttbullar & Chokladbollar

Meatballs

Köttbullar = Swedish meatballs

Chokladbollar = Swedish little balls of chocolaty buttery oat-filled heaven

I had quite the eventful foray into Swedish cuisine before leaving for Spain. I was dying to try traditional Swedish meatballs – Ikea meatballs are GREAT (no, seriously I do love them), but I had come to Stockholm for the real thing. And they did not disappoint.

We went to Riche, a restaurant in östermalm (fancy schmancey). The restaurant itself is designed in a really cool way. It’s situated in the corner of an old building, but half the restaurant is actually constructed outside the building, with a roof and walls extending on to the sidewalk. So there is a street sign inside the restaurant – you’re inside, but also outside! I’m doing a terrible job at explaining. Good thing I took a picture:

Riche

Ok. The meatballs were the BEST I EVER HAD. They were flavourful, tender, and fun to eat with delicious mash on the side, as well as the traditional lingonberry jam. Yummmm. Can I go back? I wish we had something like this in Canada, but we just don’t. You’d be hard-pressed to find a restaurant in Toronto with just meatballs on the menu. Especially Swedish meatballs. Oh well, there’s always Ikea!

view from the tv tower

I also visited the TV Tower, which is the tallest building in Stockholm. I found this to be adorable, as I come from Toronto, which boasts the CN Tower. But honestly, there is no comparison. The view from the Stockholm TV tower is far more beautiful, in my opinion. The Swedish landscape is picturesque. The city itself has a lovely skyline, but there is so much greenery surrounding it. I always forget that the city is built on islands, because it’s simple and easy to navigate. But the view from the TV tower was a good reminder.

I made a great discovery at the TV Tower as well! Linda I and visited for the view, yes, but also for fika! Duh. I chose some type of flaky pastry, but Linda had a chokladboll. Aka a little Swedish ball of chocolaty buttery oat-filled heaven. I tried a small bite of hers, and if my manners weren’t so Canadian, I probably would have grabbed it off her plate and stuffed the whole thing in my mouth. But I didn’t. Or did I? Hehehe (Linda can verify that I did not). I loved it so much in fact, that we decided to recreate them at home! Yes, I learned how to make a native dish. Several in fact, but today’s highlight is chokladbollar. Please see the recipe below:

img001

making chokladboll

Ta da!

Ta da!

Now let me give you a brief glimpse of Spain. We left right after Midsommar, and decided to stay a week in Malaga, a province in the South of Spain. We stayed in Linda’s parents’ summer home, and it was a dream. Not a dream, it was paradise. It was a dreamy paradise. We also rented a car, which Linda drove like a pro. It was a little car, and it didn’t like being driven very fast, but it made it up the hilly terrain and that’s all that matters. Our home for the week was situated up the hills near the Andalusian mountains, and it was a five-minute drive down to the coast and the beach. I wish I could accurately describe the view for you, but I believe it would be impossible. There’s nothing like renting a car and driving in Europe. The “Costa Del Sol” is a wonderful place, and I wish I had taken a video of all the passing palm trees, crazy little cars, sparkling waters, and bright, golden sun.

IMG_5197

the little engine that could

the little engine that could

When we first arrived, we decided to have our dinner in Puerto Banus. I’m used to yacht life and yacht culture because I lived in Juan-Les-Pins, near Nice and Monaco. I’m used to the flashy Mediterranean lifestyle that some very wealthy people lead. But oh my goodness. I have never seen so much plastic surgery in my life! Linda and I enjoyed a delicious pizza at Picasso Pizzeria, and I had a hard time spotting anyone who didn’t have some type of bodily or facial alteration. I felt extremely out of place, but in the best way possible! And I’m not passing judgment at all – if you want to change your body with surgery, well you do you boo. Linda and I just definitely stuck out. Linda’s boyfriend also pointed out that in Puerto Banus there are more lambos and sports cars than regular cars. You actually have to actively look to find a Toyota. Can you imagine?

DSC_4007

DSC_4014

DSC_4023

Next time, a deeper look into our Spanish adventure. Ronda, Spanish grocery stores, and more!

One thought on “Spain! But First, Köttbullar & Chokladbollar

Leave a comment